Township of San Marino City








The territory of the Township of San Marino City covers an area of 7.09 square kilometers. As of 30 June 2014, the population amounted to 4,102 persons, of whom 2,007 were males and 2,095 were females.
The Township Council consists of the Head and 9 Members.

The historic centre of San Marino and Mount Titano were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
San Marino City is the capital of the Republic and the historic centre hosts the main historical monuments of the State: the three towers, the Public Palace, seat of San Marino Heads of State, namely the Captains Regent. The Public Palace houses the sittings of the Parliament, that is the Great and General Council, of the Parliamentary Committees and of the Government. The Township of San Marino City also includes the Saint's Basilica, the State Museum, the Saint Francis Museum and Picture Gallery, the Saint Quirinus Church and the Monastery of Saint Clare.
The economy of this Township, which has 694 businesses, is mainly based on trade with 307 stores and on the tertiary sector with 149 businesses.
San Marino City hosts the University, the Higher Secondary School, two of the three Junior Secondary Schools, two elementary schools, two kindergartens and two public nursery schools.
Among the sports facilities present in the Township, worth mentioning is the modern tennis centre in Fonte dell'Ovo which hosts every year international competitions.
The elegant Kursaal Congress Centre is the venue, throughout the year, not only for conferences and meetings, but also for major events, exhibitions and concerts. Among these, worth mentioning is the International Singing Competition Renata Tebaldi.

Official portal of the Republic of San Marino

Powered by Ariadne / CMS